Gainsborough Cycling Club toasts successful year at awards night

Gainsborough's Trent Valley Road Cycling Club.
Gainsborough's Trent Valley Road Cycling Club.

Trent Valley Road Cycling Club held its annual awards night at the Ferry House Inn in East Stockwith.

Over 40 members attended and enjoyed an excellent buffet before the awards ceremony got underway.

Chairman Mike Overton started off by thanking everyone who had helped out during the year,especially the hard-working committee, before presenting a bouquet of flowers to his wife Irene in appreciation of her catering skills for the club throughout the year.

In the early season’s Reliability Rides 20 members qualified for medals and these were now presented.

The club awards were voted for on the night with Mike Overton picking up most valued member and Rob Gregory most improved rider.

On to the racing awards and first up was Ross Williams (fastest juvenile/junior), next was Stephen Cockerham (third time trial h/cap league), Paul Brownless (second time trial scratch league), Cliff Williams (third road bike scratch league, third road bike h/cap league), Rob Gregory (third time trial scratch league, second time trial h/cap league), Paul Freeman (second road bike scratch league, second road bike h/cap league, third road race league), Michael Adlington (2015 road race Champion), Samantha Ritson (2015 ladies club Champion), Paul Pycroft (first road bike scratch league, first road bike h/cap league, second road race league) and Andy Codd (first time trial scratch league, first time trial h/cap league, 2015 25-mile time trial champion).