North Wheatley now third in table

IT was another bad weekend for Marshalls 1sts in the Bassetlaw Cricket League Championship Division as they went down to a nine-wicket defeat at second-placed Farnsfield.

The Gainsborough side batted first and were bowled out for 183 with skipper Paul van den Heuvel again showing fine form with another half century and he was well supported by James Deacon who scored 46.

But the hosts easily passed the Marshalls total for the loss of just one wicket and the visitors had to make do with three points and they are now eight in the table.

Meanwhile, North Wheatley with Leverton 1sts continued their good form with a narrow 15-run victory at home to Ordsall Bridon.

Wheatley batted first and Jon Loates made a huge contribution to their final score of 195 as he hit a fine 75, with Liam Somers adding 49.

In reply, Ordsall Bridon ran them close but three wickets apiece from Peter Jansen and Callum Harrison saw the hosts pick up 20 points and they are now third in the table.

In Division One Everton scored 162 for eight with Mark Antony hitting 71 and then dismissed visitors Mansfield and Pleasley for just 82 thanks to Chris Woods (5-29) and Jon Shaw (3-32) to record an 80-run win.

In Division Two Wiseton’s record-breaking run of eight consecutive wins came to an end last Saturday when they were beaten at Grassmoor by five wickets.

On a very green wicket all the Wiseton batsmen struggled with the indifferent bounce and seam movement and wickets fell at regular interval and they were finally bowled out for a lowly 128 in the 44th over.

When Wiseton took to the field the wicket had certainly lost its early demons and the Grassmoor batsmen applied themselves well and surpassed the required total for the loss of five wickets in the 34th over.

It was also bad news for Lea Park who lost at home to Farnsfield by 59 runs. Farnsfield batted first and posted a total of 190 for eight with Chris Needham, Andy Orton and Andrew Dewick taking two wickets each.

But when it was Lea Park’s turn to bat they lost wickets steadily and only a ninth-wicket stand of 35 by Eddie Cook and Matthew Housham, who both scored 24, gave them any hope but inevitable they were all out for 131, well short of their target.

Marshalls 2nds gave the club a boost when they won their Division Four match at home to Whitwell by 69 runs and they are now fourth in the table.

Man of the match Martyn Snell led the way with a fine unbeaten century - his third for the club - as Marshalls scored 177 for seven, and he then took three wickets for 12 and Abhishek Rampal four for 18 to bowl Whitwell out for 108.

Marshalls are now in a strong position in the league and are pushing for promotion with some very good youngster producing more consistent performances alongside the senior players. A big thanks to Stuart Morley for doing an excellent job scoring and Stuart Spriggens doing the refreshments all afternoon.

But it was not good news for Rose Leisure in their match at North Warren Road against Killamarsh 2nds. They batted first and were all out for 142 and could not stop the visitors passing that total for the loss of five wickets.

Everton 2nds had a fine 80-run victory at Teversal 2nds, scoring 222 for eight and then bowling the hosts out for 142.

In Division Five Misterton got a winning draw at home to North Wheatley with Leverton 2nds, scoring 144 all out but then seeing Wheatley holding out on 77 for eight.

O Everton Cricket Club is currently raising funds for improvements to be made to its pavilion facilities. On Sunday 26th June it is holding its second six-a-side cricket competition.

There will be eight8 local sides, including teams from Everton, Lea Park, Bawtry and Bridon, who will be battling to be crowned the winners of the Everton Cricket Club Six-a-side competition and pick up a cool £300 in the process.


Bassetlaw League

Saturday 25th June

MARSHALLS 1sts (Championship, v Killamarsh, home, w.p. 1.30pm): P. van den Heuvel, Gary Andrews, Greg Andrews, C. Blood, N. Plumtree, D. Andrews, M. Whitlam, T. Wray, R. Power, J. Deacon, J. Alderson. Scorer John Connor. Meet Marshalls noon. Shirt sponsor: Intenz Art; ball sponsor: Mr and Mrs Whitlam; stump sponsor: K and K Haulage.

MARSHALLS 2nds (Division Four, v Killamarsh, away, w.p. 2pm): I. Brooks, M. SNell, L. Karkach, J. Senescall, K. Metcalfe, S. Metcalfe, A. Rampal, W. Birkett, A. Turver, B. Barker, J. Clark; 12th man J. Favill. Meet club noon. Shirtw sponsor: Jupp Forde; ball sponsor: Mr and Mrs Whitlam.

Lincoln League

Sunday 26th June

MARSHALLS (Division Four, v Rustons, home, w.p. 2pm): Daren Andrews, M. Snell, R. Power, A. Turver, L. Karkach, J. Senescall, J. Favill, N. Plumtree, A. Tinnie, T. Brooks, S. Crowther. Scorer John Connor. Meet 1pm. SHirt sponsor: Intenz Art; stump sponsor: K and K Haulage.