Morton Feast Fun Run belongs to nine-year-old Jasper

AMAZING ABILITY -- nine-year-old Jasper Humphries, the impressive winner of the 2015 Morton Feast 5K Fun Run.
AMAZING ABILITY -- nine-year-old Jasper Humphries, the impressive winner of the 2015 Morton Feast 5K Fun Run.

The amazing ability, for one so young, of nine-year-old athlete Jasper Humphries again came to the fore at the 2015 Morton Feast 5K Fun Run.

For Jasper romped to victory with an impressive performance to conquer the course, which started and finished at Morton Corner and headed along the Trent bank to Walkerith before returning to Morton by Field Lane. His splendid time was 22 minutes, 25 seconds.

The 39 entrants, who all received a medal, were set off in three groups -- U11 boys and girls (Group A), ladies (B) and O16 males (C). Group A had a one-minute head-start on Group B, who began two minutes before Group C.

Another nine-year-old, Lucy Allan, won the U11 girls’ race and was top female in a time of 24 minutes, 27 seconds. Others who made the podium for the U11s were 11-year-olds Brandon Smith in 22.54 and third-placed Frank Ryan in 23.04.

The second female home was Shannon Conway, who clocked 24.51 and was also first in the U16 age group. Stacey Kerr took the third female prize with a time of 30.05.

The first two finishers from Group C were Zackary Hobday (20.17) and Peter Duncan (20.44), who both enjoyed excellent runs.

The team prize went to the one called The Tortoise, Giraffe and Two Hares, aka John Anderson, Andrew Gillum, Declan Rainsforth and Zackary Hobday.

The Morton Village Hall Committee would like to thank the following for ensuring the event was another big success: Phil Kitchen (organiser), Tom Conway (timekeeping), Cliff Middleton (registration and start), Mat Huteson (results) and Tom Humphries (presentation).

When all the time handicaps for the respective groups were factored in, the top 16 runners were: 1 Jasper Humphries (Group A) 22.25, 2 Brandon Smith (A) 22.54, 3 Frank Ryan (A) 23.04, 4 Zackary Hobday (C) 20.17, 5 Peter Duncan (C) 20.44, 6 John Anderson (C) 21.22, 7 Lucy Allan (A) 24.27, 8 Andrew Gillum (C) 21.39, 9 Harry Bishop (A) 25.19, 10 Ben Drayton (C) 22.34, 11 Shannon Conway (B) 24.51, 12 Cliff Middleton (B) 25.19, 13 Joe Humphries (A) 26.30, 14 David Corbett (C) 24.08, 15 Darren Broomfield (C) 24.30, 16 Declan Rainsforth (C) 25.23.