Course record falls as Gainsborough cycling clubs battle in 25-mile time trial

Julian Hesp of Viking Velo Cycling Club
Julian Hesp of Viking Velo Cycling Club

Five riders beat the old course record in Gainsborough’s combined clubs 25-mile time trial last week.

Trent Valley Road Club were the hosts, on a course consisting of one 17-mile and one eight-mile loop.

The 17-mile loop took riders from the start on Laughton Lane, through Laughton Forest to Susworth, returning down the riverside to Morton, left onto Laughton Lane to complete one lap.

From here riders went on to a smaller loop out to Wildsworth and East Stockwith before returning to the finish on Laughton Lane.

The old record of 1:01:18 set by Trent Valley’s Paul Brownless, was well beaten by Viking Velo’s Julian Hesp, who just managed to set the new mark at 58:23.

He was one second faster than Lincsquad’s Steve Grocock.

For Trent Valley this race also served as their Club Championship, and current holder Andy Codd retained his title, holding off rival Steve Walker with a personal best ride just seven seconds over the hour.


Trent Valley Road Club: Andy Codd 60mins 07secs, Steve Walker 60:50,Paul Brownless 62:30, Paul Pycroft 64:31, Darren Dickinson 68:40, Stephen Cockerham 69:59, Paul Freeman 70:29, Samantha Ritson 73:41, Jim Girven 78:01.

Viking Velo Road Club: Julian Hesp 58:23, Jud Parker 65:21,Steve Dobson 67:29,Chris Warrilow 72:52, Matt Fieldson 73:29, Roy Watson 76:44, James Green 77:43, Jon Gade 79:36. Rob Noble DNF.

Phoenix Cycling Club: Paul Bagshaw 69:24, Tony Keightley 74:25, Kevin Smart 80:11, Jon Findley 84:43.

17 miles: Jason Clout 47:13, Jo Findley 57:21, Carol Smart 70:15.

Eight miles: Abbie Mercer 30:30.

Private trials: Lincsquad: Steve Grocock 58:24, Stuart Grocock 68:48, Kev Lovett 70:35.

Linvoln Velo: Ronnie McWilliam 60:16.

Planet X: 17 miles James Vickers 39:56.