Schools offer competitive football

Thirty-seven schools have responded to the appeal to ensure that there is a beneficial Olympic legacy by offering their pupils competitive football for the coming year.

Last year’s double Champion of Champions and Knockout Cup winners, Carr Hill and Gamston will be defending their titles once again.

The experienced team of headteacher Neil Moore and coach Paul Vardy will be the guiding lights behind Carr Hill, while headteacher David Fotheringham, very successful in his first year, will continue to develop the groundwork left behind by previous head Kevin Fitzpatrick at Gamston.

The league format based on current numbers on roll is:

Division One: Carr Hill, Redlands, Prospect Hill, Sir Edmund Hillary, St John’s.

Division Two: Serlby Park, Ryton Park, St Augustine’s, Ordsall, Gateford Park.

Division Three: Norbridge, Langold, Kingston Park, St Anne’s, Carlton Ramsden.

Division Four: St Joseph’s, Holy Family, Thrumpton, Priory, Misterton.

Division Five: Ranskill, Blyth, Clarborough, St Swithun’s.

Division Six: East Markham, Everton, Misson, Gamston, Beckingham.

Division Seven: Haggonfields, Cuckney, North Leverton, St Patrick’s.

Division Eight: Sturton-le-Steeple, Gringley, Ranby, North Wheatley.

The Bassetlaw Boys management team are seeking nominations for trials for this year’s squad to defend the three County Championships they won last year, and the Midland Counties title they won that earned them a place in the National Finals at Chelsea’s Training Ground at Cobham.

Opponents this term include Scarborough, Gloucester and Leeds and begin with a meeting with Gainsborough Boys on 6th October.

Team managers are asked to contact the Association secretary, Jack Tarr, as soon as possible.