Cup holders cruise through

PARRY Cup holders Carr Hill cruised into the quarter-finals of this year’s competition with a 6-2 win over St Augustine’s.

Despite trailing 1-0 at the interval they struck ruthlessly in the second half with goals from Jay Smith, Ben Mills, Alex Wonham, Declan Heath and Laurence Narancic.

Sir Edmund Hillary were also convincing winners, beating St Anne’s 4-0 with goals from Toby Howard, Cameron Harper, Liam Frost and Daniel Scott.

Newcomers Anston Park looked set for a rout when they led 4-0 at the interval against Norbridge but a tremendous performance in goal from Elliot Wragg and the introduction of substitute Luke Smith in the second half left Anston having to cling on to a 4-3 lead at full-time.

A revitalised St John’s earned their place in the next round when Hayden Staniland, Tom Bedford, Alex Richardson, Konrad and Jaden Thackery were all on target at Ordsall.

In the quarter-finals they will be joined by the Redlands and Ryton Park, while Prospect Hill and Langold Dyscarr benefitted by the withdrawal of Kingston Park and Holy Family.

The draw for the quarter finals is Langold Dyscarr v St John’s; Ryton Park v Sir Edmund Hillary; Carr Hill v Anston Park; Redlands v Prospect Hill.

All ties must be played to a finish by 7th November.

Bassetlaw Boys begin their competitive season on Saturday with a home tie against Gainsborough Boys when all boys should report to the manager at 9.50am prompt for a 10.30am kick-off.

The invited squad is: Jay Smith, Luke Carey (Carr Hill); Finn Sweetnam (Holy Family); Luke Smith (Norbridge); Keiron Hooley, Adam Duffy (Kingston Park); Ethan Warner, Lewis Comley, Ryan Dixon (Redlands); Josh Hooton, Liam Frost, Cameron Harper (Sir Edmund Hillary); Josh Robson (Bracken Lane); Curtis Toulson (Ryton Park); Jack Wilson (Harworth C of E); George Atkinson (Clarborough). Staff: Messrs Pressley, Tarr.