Celebrating local heroes at WLDC Awards night

Matthew Gleadell receiving his award
Matthew Gleadell receiving his award

SELFLESS citizens who go that extra mile to really make a difference in their community were rewarded at the first West Lindsey District Council Community Awards.

The night celebrated the tireless efforts of local residents in a ceremony at the Council Chamber at the Guildhall in Gainsborough.

Coun Jessie Milne said that she was very moved by the community spirit of people across the district.

“It was very hard to select a winner in all the categories, as those nominated have done such sterling work,” she said. “I hope these awards will help recognise these people and highlight just how much work is carried out by volunteers, and how much of their free time they give up.”

Matthew Gleadell won the Gainsborough Area Champion Award for his work for the Morton Playing Field Association.

He said: “I’m absolutely overwhelmed. It’s both an honour and a privilege to receive this award. I’ve always believed if there are people out there that have got the skills and the knowledge to help communities then they should do. Far too many people don’t get involved with their community and half the time people don’t know the name of their next door neighbour and it’s a real shame.”

The full list of winners was:

- Volunteer of the Year 2012: WINNER - Shirley Sanderson from Gordon Field. RUNNER-UP - Mary Galbraith, from Lea.

- Parish Council of the Year 2012: WINNER: Upton, RUNNER-UP: Saxilby

- Market Rasen Area Champion: Shirley Sanderson

- Fossdyke Area Champion: Mick Slack from Ingham

- Caistor Area Champion: Louise Drakes from Keelby

- Trent Area Champion: Sue Hunt, from Willoughton

- Witham Area Champion: Charles Shaw, from Nettleham

- Gainsborough Area Champion: Matthew Gleadell, from Gainsborough.

From March, you’ll be able to nominate for next year’s Community Awards by visiting www.west-lindsey.gov.uk/communityawards