Titles and promotion for local cricket sides

Marshalls have been confirmed as Bassetlaw Cricket League Division Four champions with one game to spare.

The Middlefield Lane men routed Thoresby Park by 84 runs, as secretary Martyn Snell hit 49 runs and took 5 for 4 with the ball.

Taking twenty points from the win, and title rivals Clumber Park tying their game with Clay Cross handed Marshalls the title and sparked celebrations in Gainsborough.

Snell said: “We had a big night in town on Saturday.”

“It was weird, very bitter sweet obviously because we lost Haydn this season, but it was a nice way to end the season.”

“We can enjoy the last game now and remember the season and what we’ve achieved, despite how difficult it’s been.”

Roses are also celebrating after sealing the top spot in Division Three, ahead of local rivals Lea Park who will go up via the second promotion slot.

And Wiseton will finish second in Division Six and escape their league.

Full Bassetlaw results and tables on page 62.